Published on May 02, 2018

Science Awards Banquet Held


Pictured are Holzer Health System Science Awards Recipients.

Holzer Health System recently honored outstanding local high school science graduates at its 35th Annual High School Science Awards Banquet. The scholars, their parents and school representatives were invited to attend, where each student was presented with a certificate and monetary award. A representative from each high school who attended the event was presented a check to further their efforts in their respective school’s Science Programs. The Science Awards Program encompasses high schools from Athens, Gallia, Jackson, Meigs, Lawrence, Pike and Vinton Counties in Ohio; and Mason County in West Virginia.

John Cunningham, Executive Vice President of Population Health Management, Holzer Health System, served as Master of Ceremonies and delivered the introductory remarks. Michael Canady, MD, Chief Medical Officer, Holzer Health System outlined the history of the Science Awards Program. Dr. Canady commented, “Holzer sees the Science Awards as an opportunity to give back to the community and formally recognize the achievements of our students and educational systems.” The Science Awards Program honors a student selected by the high school based on outstanding achievement in science and a desire to pursue a higher education.

The featured speaker for the program was David Blevins, MD, Holzer General Surgeon Dr. Blevins joined the Holzer staff in 1998 and is a board certified physician by the American Board of Surgery. He is a graduate of the Ohio State University College of Medicine and completed his residency at Mount Carmel Medical Center in Columbus, Ohio.

Through the Science Awards Program, Holzer has contributed thousands of dollars to area schools and students for the betterment of education in our region. For more information, visit or call 1-855-4-HOLZER.

Holzer Health System Science Awards Recipients:

Jordan Lumbatis - Alexander High School
Tony Li - Athens High School
Brooklyn Hammond - Buckeye Hills Career Center         
Madisyn Yeomans - Chesapeake High School
Trevor Deere - Dawson-Bryant High School
Austin Canaday - Eastern Local (Beaver) High School
Elayna Bissell - Eastern Local High School
Brennan Criswell - Fairland High School
Taylor Gillian - Federal Hocking High School
Adam Sickels - Gallia Academy High School
Cassidy Duffer - Hannan High School
Jazmine Hammond - Ironton High School
Rachel Goodall - Jackson High School
Bradley Logan - Meigs High School
Addison Bowers - Nelsonville-York High School
Bailey Ward - Oak Hill High School
Shelby Bing - Ohio Valley Christian School
Bryce Tayengco - Point Pleasant High School
Hunter Coon - River Valley High School
Gavin Jenkins - Rock Hill High School
Riley Sanders - South Gallia High School
Kendall Bryant - South Point High School
Hannah Evans - Southern High School
Clay Willis - St. Joseph High School
Derik Brace - Symmes Valley High School
Calen Campbell - Trimble High School
Cole Pridemore - Vinton County High School
Lauren Fields - Wahama High School
Hailey Hauck - Waverly High School
Mary Ray - Wellston High School

Receive Our eNewsletter in your Inbox

Read up on Holzer news. Sign up for our eNewsletter.

To Top