Published on April 17, 2019

Science Awards Banquet Held


Photo is of the 2019 Holzer Science Award winners.

Holzer Health System recently honored outstanding local high school science graduates at its 36th Annual High School Science Awards Banquet. The scholars, their parents and school representatives were invited to attend, where each student was presented with a certificate and monetary award.  A representative from each high school who attended the event was presented a check to further their efforts in their respective school’s Science Programs. The Science Awards Program encompasses high schools from Athens, Gallia, Jackson, Meigs, Lawrence, Pike and Vinton Counties in Ohio; and Mason County in West Virginia.

John Cunningham, MS, MBA, FACMPE, Executive Vice President, Holzer Health System, served as Master of Ceremonies and delivered the introductory remarks. Michael Canady, MD, MBA, CPE, FACS, FAAPL, Chief Executive Officer, Holzer Health System outlined the history of the Science Awards Program. Dr. Canady commented, “Holzer sees the Science Awards as an opportunity to give back to the community and formally recognize the achievements of our students and educational systems.”  The Science Awards Program honors a student selected by the high school based on outstanding achievement in science and a desire to pursue a higher education.

The featured speaker for the program was Jonathan Mathis, MD, Holzer Pediatrician. Dr. Mathis is Board Certified by the American Academy of Pediatrics and a graduate of the Morehouse School of Medicine in Atlanta, Georgia. He completed his pediatrics residency at the Medical University of South Carolina in Charleston, South Carolina. He joined Holzer in 2018.

Dr. Mathis spoke to the group about thinking outside of the box and striving toward achievable goals. He remarked, “As you move forward, you will come across resistance. It is your job as thinkers, dreamers, to push past that resistance. Regardless of what people say, it is your responsibility to move forward and pursue your passion. You have the ability to do what you set your mind to.”

Through the Science Awards Program, Holzer has contributed thousands of dollars to area schools and students for the betterment of education in our region. For more information, visit or call 1-855-4-HOLZER.


Holzer Health System Science Awards Recipients:

Eryn Dael                                              Alexander High School

Anru Tian                                              Athens High School

Dakota Doss                                         Buckeye Hills Career Center

Andrew Mayenschein                             Chesapeake High School

Parker Fraley                                        Dawson-Bryant High School

James Pennington                                 Eastern Local (Beaver) High School

Hannah Damewood                               Eastern Local High School

Abigail Morgan Naegele                         Fairland High School

Faith Laughlin                                        Federal Hocking High School

Elijah Baird                                           Gallia Academy High School

Dylan Collier                                         Hannan High School

John Higgins                                         Ironton High School

Haley Webb                                          Jackson High School

Allison Hanstine                                     Meigs High School

Madison Campbell                                 Nelsonville-York High School

Katelyn Jones                                       Oak Hill High School

Trevor Blank                                         Ohio Valley Christian School

Katelyn Elizabeth Roush                        Point Pleasant High School

Isabella Marie Moore                             River Valley High School

Kelsey Marie Olderham                          Rock Hill High School

Maria Calhoun                                       South Gallia High School

Katelyn Mundy                                      South Point High School

Marissa Brooker                                    Southern High School

Isaac Andrew Whaley                            St. Joseph High School

Kara Saunders                                      Symmes Valley High School

Ryan Richmond                                    Trimble High School

Kiara Pickell                                          Vinton County High School

Jacob Lloyd                                          Wahama High School

Logan Huber                                         Waverly High School

Dray Remy                                            Wellston High School   

Receive Our eNewsletter in your Inbox

Read up on Holzer news. Sign up for our eNewsletter.

To Top